château de LabroA magical place

the Spirit of the Château

the History of Château de Labro

From the 16th century to the present day

The Château de Labro was built in the 16th century by a wealthy family of merchants called De creato. At the end of the 17th century, the castle is sold to family De Patris which counted some eminent members such as abbot Guillaume de Patris. Lieutenant of Cardinal d’Armagnac, he became famous for foiling a protestant conspiracy during holy wars and avoiding the invasion of Rodez. During the 19th century the property is transferred to family De Meynier, whose name is associated to an unfamous criminal matter. The murder of prosecutor Fualdès in 1817 left its mark on local history. Joseph de Meynier, magistrate and militant royalist contributed -with others- to cover up the existance of a plot which leaded to the execution of innocent persons. This famous case made a great impact on the French community and far beyond our borders.

In 2001, Jean and Nizou Rouquet fell in love with the Chateau de Labro and bought it . Then, the castle and its outbuildings, which had undergone full renovation works, have been handed to Jean-Michel Rouquet whose management fostered the development of the business. For both Jean and his son, Jean-Michel, this challenge is also a return to their roots.

A story to be shared

Jean Roquet's desire to share the Château so that others could discover it and daydream of its wonder urged him to open it to the public. Here, you can immerse yourself in the history of a family that has invested significantly so that you can enjoy it in the most comfortable surroundings, just like at home.

"I want people to daydream," says Jean Rouquet.

His taste for beautiful things lends him a certain legitimacy. The passionate second-hand goods dealer strives tirelessly to find that rare pearl, taking risks with the decor that is both refined and unusual, such as the antler wreath and the modern art decor. A desire to share something in this frantic time in which we’re often too busy to recount a story or two. The spirit of this place is of those who like to daydream of time stopping, falling away, simple bliss, respite and relaxation.

How do you perfect the art of receiving guests?

“An exceptional place would be nothing without an exceptional welcome. At Château de Labro, we have a team of people that have a real sense of hospitality. You will be welcomed like at the hearth of friends, with personal touches that make a special difference and create a truly intimate ambience. As I often say, in order to welcome people to our home, we must enjoy sharing what we have with them, and it is in this very spirit we receive all our customers, or 'guests' as we prefer to call them.”

A magical place

A magical place Set against a beautiful green backdrop a few kilometers from Rodez, here you can enjoy this unique place while you relax and recharge your batteries. A place where the magic happens from the moment you walk through the door... a truly exceptional spot

"... By cultivating the very spirit of the place together with the powerful landscape of Rouergue in the Midi Pyrénées, an aesthete transformed an old mansion in a rural corner of paradise. A charming "homestay" monument dedicated to the art of living and to well-being... This location inspires a certain respect, owed to all such opulent places, anywhere in France, even in the English countryside, such are its grace and majesty. The spirit of this place is of those who like to daydream of time stopping, falling away, simple bliss, respite and relaxation.”

"Château de Labro is neither a second luxury residence, nor a hotel or fancy castle, but a sanctuary, a sacred place where people come to reflect, take refuge, to find that inner serenity. A sanctuary whose divinity is well-being itself, whose religion is art de vivre, whose liturgy is taking it easy, whose doctrine is simple beauty. Everything here seems conceived for that exact purpose."

Charm, the real one

Here, all is harmony and authenticity. Each meticulously flecked object has found its place in an almost natural and obvious way. A true alchemy between old stones, an unusual place, unspoilt nature and antique objects put on display by the owner, an impassioned antique hunter. You will discover different types of ambience that fit together like an almost perfect puzzle. We are not too far from perfection, from happiness, from a touch of heaven on earth.

Beauty as a doctrine, according to Périco Légasse

"Château de Labro is neither a second luxury residence, nor a hotel or fancy castle, but a sanctuary, a sacred place where people come to reflect, take refuge, to find that inner serenity. A sanctuary whose divinity is well-being itself, whose religion is art de vivre, whose liturgy is taking it easy, whose doctrine is simple beauty. Everything here seems conceived for that exact purpose."

Mr Jean Rouquet, how does your establishment embody "the real charm"?

"Charm is above all the personal investment we put into a place. It took us 10 years to make Château de Labro a unique place where magic happens, where no one is unmoved. This charm is real because each object, every decorative element was patiently hunted across France. We mixed original features with contemporary designs to create a quirky and modern style that plays with the classical."

le Château de LabroLa magie des lieux

l'Esprit des lieux

l'histoire du Château de Labro

Du 16ème siècle à nos jours

L'histoire du château de Labro et de sa seigneurie remonte au 16 ème siècle avec la famille de Créato, enrichie par le commerce.
A la fin du 17ème siècle Labro entrera dans la famille de Patris qui a compté d’importants personnnages. Ainsi l’Abbé Guillaume de Patris, lieutenant du Cardinal d’Armagnac, s’illustra lors des guerres de religion, en déjouant un complot protestant pour prendre Rodez.
Au 19ème siècle, Labro appartiendra à la famille de Meynier. L’assassinat du procureur Fualdès en 1817 marquera profondément l’histoire de l’Aveyron avec ses mystères et ses aspects sordides. Joseph de Meynier, magistrat, militant royaliste, contribuera - avec d’autres – à dissimuler l’existence d’un complot qui aboutira à l’exécution d’innocents. Une affaire célèbre qui mobilisera la France entière et retentira aux delà des frontières.

Tombés sous le charme du château Labro, Jean et Nizou Rouquet l’achètent en 2001. Depuis, Jean aidé de son épouse, orchestre des travaux de restauration dans les règles de l’art pour redonner vie à cet endroit longtemps délaissé. Pour Jean Rouquet c’est aussi un retour au pays : l’Aveyron, sa région natale.

Une histoire à partager

C’est l’envie de partager, de faire découvrir le lieu et faire rêver qui a poussé Jean Rouquet à ouvrir le lieu au public. Ici vous rentrerez dans l’histoire d’une famille qui de fil en aiguille s’est investie pour vous recevoir dans les meilleures conditions, comme à la maison.

Je veux faire rêver les gens , dit Jean Rouquet.

Son goût des belles choses lui apporte toute sa légitimité. Ce brocanteur passionné s’échine à dénicher la perle rare, à prendre des risques avec la décoration à la fois épurée et insolite comme la guirlande de bois de cerf, l’art déco aux tonalités d’aujourd’hui. Une envie de partage dans une époque frénétique où l'on oublie de se laisser conter. Un esprit des lieux pour un esprit à part, propice au songe. Ce à quoi aussi chaque être ici-bas espère atteindre, toucher du doigt. L’absence du temps qui passe, la béatitude, le répit par le repos.

Comment cultivez vous l’art du recevoir ?

« Un lieu extraordinaire ne serait rien sans un accueil exceptionnel. Au Château de Labro, nous avons mis en place une équipe qui a un véritable sens de l’hospitalité. On y est accueilli comme chez des amis, avec des attentions personnelles qui font la différence et qui créent une ambiance intimiste. Comme je le dis souvent, il faut aimer partager avec les gens pour les recevoir chez soi. C’est dans cette optique que nous accueillons chacun de nos clients…mais nous préférons dire « invités ».

La magie des lieux

Comme posé dans un écrin de verdure à quelques kilomètres seulement de Rodez, vous profiterez d’un lieu unique pour vous détendre et vous ressourcer, un lieu où la magie opère dès l’instant où l’on franchit la porte…de ce domaine d’exception.

Un sanctuaire en Occitanie : d’après Périco Légasse

« …Cultivant l'âme des lieux associée à la force du paysage du Rouergue - Midi Pyrénées, un esthète a transformé un ancien manoir en coin de paradis rural. Un monument de charme “chez l'habitant” dédié à l'art de vivre et au bien-être… Le lieu inspire le respect dû à tout endroit cossu, l’on pourrait être n’importe où en France, voire dans la campagne anglaise, tant le domaine impose sa grâce et sa majesté à l’endroit… Un esprit des lieux pour un esprit à part, propice au songe. Ce à quoi aussi chaque être ici-bas espère atteindre, toucher du doigt. L’absence du temps qui passe, la béatitude, le répit par le repos. »

« Le château de Labro ne sera ni une résidence secondaire de luxe, ni un Relais et Châteaux qui se la pète, mais un sanctuaire, c'est-à-dire le lieu sacré où l'on vient se recueillir, se réfugier même, lorsqu'il convient de retrouver un instant sa sérénité intérieure. Un sanctuaire dont la divinité est le bien-être, dont la religion est l'art de vivre et dont la liturgie consiste à se la couler douce avec la beauté pour doctrine. Tout semble ici avoir été médité et prémédité à cette fin. »

Le charme, le vrai

Ici tout n’est qu’harmonie et authenticité. Chaque objet patiemment chiné a trouvé sa place de façon presque naturelle et évidente. Une véritable alchimie entre vieilles pierres, lieu insolite, nature préservée et objets anciens mis en scène par son propriétaire, chineur passionné. Vous découvrirez des ambiances différentes et multiples qui s’assemblent comme dans un puzzle presque parfait. En quelques sorte nous ne sommes pas très loin de la perfection, du bonheur, d’un petit paradis terrestre.

La beauté comme doctrine : d’après Périco Légasse

« Le château de Labro ne sera ni une résidence secondaire de luxe, ni un Relais et Châteaux qui se la pète, mais un sanctuaire, c'est-à-dire le lieu sacré où l'on vient se recueillir, se réfugier même, lorsqu'il convient de retrouver un instant sa sérénité intérieure. Un sanctuaire dont la divinité est le bien-être, dont la religion est l'art de vivre et dont la liturgie consiste à se la couler douce avec la beauté pour doctrine. Tout semble ici avoir été médité et prémédité à cette fin. »

Monsieur Jean Rouquet en quoi votre établissement incarne-t-il « le charme, le vrai » ?

« Le charme c’est avant tout l’investissement personnel que l’on met dans un lieu. Il nous a fallu 10 ans pour faire du Château de Labro un lieu unique dans lequel la « magie opère » et qui ne laisse personne indifférent. Ce charme est vrai car chaque objet, chaque élément décoratif a été patiemment chiné dans toute la France. Nous avons mélangé des éléments d’époque avec des créations contemporaines afin de créer un style décalé et moderne, qui se joue des codes classiques. »